Eagles passer, LB collect other MVP honors

With playoff success and a competitive race for the top four spots, the battle for District 12-5A II All-District Team selections were full of area talent.

The team featured a number of players from the Robert E. Lee, Barbers Hill and Crosby football programs.

Barbers Hill quarterback Christian Kaopua and linebacker Cavin Branin were named the district’s Most Valuable Player and Defensive Most Valuable Player respectively.

For the REL Ganders, senior quarterback Ijenea Wooley was selected as the Offensive Most Valuable Player and Keke Davis was chosen as the Special Teams Most Valuable Player.

First-team selection for the Ganders included Elijah Partida (wide receiver).

A number of REL players were voted for the second team including Davis (running back), Rashad Futch (center), Billy Haynes (defensive lineman), Marcus Johnson (defensive end) and Alex Moreno (outside linebacker).

Honorable mention Ganders chosen were Trudell Berry (wide receiver), Ricardo Ramirez (offensive lineman), Jabier Quinones (running back), Joseph Jones (defensive back) and Adrian Boston (defensive back).

Besides Kaopua and Branin’s excellent play, the Eagles (11-2) had first-team selections Cameron Cauley (wide receiver), Chris Barrios (tight end), Casey Collier (offensive tackle), Rees Allison (offensive guard), Eli Burch (offensive guard), Isiah Marcel (defensive tackle), Josh King-Bradley (defensive end), Ramsey Humphrey (defensive end), Rex Thompson (outside linebacker) and Branden Heffernan (safety).

Second team picks for the Eagles were Riley Suggs (offensive tackle), Brennan Holdren (center), Connor McNally (defensive tackle), Kade McCall (outside linebacker), Josh Bishop (cornerback) and Ashton Hanby (cornerback).

Garrett Hagler (running back) and Canden Grogan (receiver) were picked for honorable mention.

The Crosby Cougars, who finished 6-5 this season, were led by Trevor Helburg who was named the district’s Outstanding Special Teams Player.

First-team members were Keegan Schexnyder (offensive lineman), Hunter Bailey (linebacker), Jamauri Johnson (linebacker), Reynaldo Ayala (defensive back) and Marcus Jnofinn (defensive back).

Second-team Cougars are Reggie Branch (quarterback), Deniquez Dunn (running back and punter), Jaylen Herman (wide receiver, Blaine Berry (offensive lineman), Roberto Medina (offensive lineman), Demetrius Strahan (offensive lineman), Tramell White (defensive lineman), Jeremiah Isaac (defensive lineman), McCoy Casey (defensive lineman) and Michael Ray (linebacker).

Leondre Smith (running back), E’Monte Wilson (wide receiver), Coby Riendeau (linebacker) and Sir Hill (defensive back) were given honorable mention.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.