Crosby’s Jenna Johnson was selected as the District 22-5A softball Offensive Co-Player of the Year.

Jenna Johnson of Crosby has been announced as the District 22-5A Offensive Co-Player of the Year for the just completed softball season.

Johnson heads a contingent of a number of area players who were selected to the All-District team.

First-team selections includes infielders Gabby Cantu (Goose Creek Memorial) and Hannah Wiggins (Crosby), outfielders Gabby Leggington and Cheyenne Mohler (GCM) and catcher Maggie Herdejurgen (Crosby).

Placing on the second-team were infielder Nicole Price (Robert E. Lee), outfielder Jamie Slone (Crosby), and catcher Megan Fox (REL).

Cece Pace of Crosby was selected the top designated player and honorable mention went to REL’s Linzie Jarvis, GCM’s Catherine Montoya and Lizbeth Martinez and Crosby’s Grace Sparks and Heather Harrison.

Also, making the Academic All-District team were Crosby’s Heather Harrison, Jamie Bell and Herdejurgen, REL’s Rebecca Archibald, Sierra Hartman, Lindsey Fox, Johanna McKay, Evelyn Rull, Miranda Rull, Mia Sanchez, Price, Megan Fox an Jarvis, and GCM’s Mohler.

Crosby finished the season 21-11 and made it to the area round of the Class 5A playoffs, while GCM and REL were unable to qualify despite improvement in the win column under new coaches.

The District 21-5A and District 21-6A all-district teams have not yet been announced as teams from those leagues - including Barbers Hill from the former - are still playing in the postseason.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.