Barbers Hill volleyball coach Kristin Goodman was named District 21-5A Coach of the Year. The Lady Eagles won the title.

A number of area volleyball athletes received a wide range of all-district honors following the completed campaign with some earning top honors among their peers.

District 22-5A

Champions Friendswood may have cleaned house on all the top honors in the district, but Goose Creek Memorial, Robert E. Lee and Crosby all did its fair share of claiming the spoils.

GCM setter Zoe Martinez, libero Kaitlyn Herrera and outside hitter Taylor Kotlarz were all selected for the district’s first team along with Crosby middle blocker Charde Van Zandt.

Second-team picks include GCM’s outside hitter Elizabeth Easley, REL middle blocker Naomi Hockless and Crosby setter Jenna Johnson.

Honorable mention choices were GCM’s middle blocker Mia Bookman and setter Jaidyn Coffman, REL’s defensive specialist Marisa Flores and outside  hitter Gabrielle Lara and Crosby defensive specialists/outside hitters Elizabeth Siemek and Elizabeth Hernandez.

“I am so happy for these girls,” GCM head coach Casey Veen said. “They are very deserving. Our district is one of the most competitive districts in this area at all levels and to have this many girls recognized is awesome for GCM and the community.”

Academic All-District honors went to GCM’s Kennedy Jacquet, Kaitlyn Herrera, Tyla Cumberbatch, Bailey Miller, Sarina Garcia, Elizabeth Easley, Taylor Kotlarz, Mia Bookman, Jaidyn Coffman, Tori Macias, Zoe Martinez and Brylan Williams, REL’s Danika Cerino and Crosby’s Kylee Marksberry, Karsyn Shaver, Hannelore Dors, Elizabeth Siemek, Peyton Austill, Briana Gregory, Jenna Johnson and Kenedi Lynch.

District 21-5A

The Barbers Hill Lady Eagles, who went undefeated in capturing the district crown and finished 24-22 overall after being eliminated in the Region 3 area playoff round, had quite the season when it came to individual play.

Leading the way was setter Trinity Hennigan who earned the district’s Most Valuable Player honors while Kristin Goodman earned Coach of the Year accolades.

Middle blockers Sarah Lankford and Kylee Kejonen both earned first-team All-District honors while setter Kelsi Wingo, outside hitter Jordan Burnett, defensive specialist London King and libero Ashlyn Bishop were all chosen as second-team members.

Also receiving honorable mention was middle blocker Faith Guidry.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.