Heather Hawthorne is the Texas County Clerk of the Year. 

Heather Hawthorne, who has worked as the county clerk in Chambers County for the past 12 years, has been chosen as the County Clerk of the Year for the State of Texas for 2017-2018. 

The County and District Clerks Association of Texas recently presented the award to Hawthorne. 

“I am truly humbled and honored to be chosen by my peers,” Hawthorne said. “My association has helped me to become a better clerk through continuing education, networking and a sense of family. I enjoy what I do and have a great staff to work with.”

County Judge Jimmy Sylvia expressed his jubilation upon hearing Hawthorne won the award.

“I have worked with several county clerks in my 21 years as county judge, and Heather Hawthorne is a hard-working elected leader not only for the citizens of Chambers County but statewide as acknowledged by this prestigious award,” Sylvia said. “Our county clerk’s office is second to none.”

Hawthorne serves as the clerk for all courts Sylvia presides over including juvenile, probate, criminal and commissioners court.

Bandera County District Clerk Tammy Kneuper, past president of the association, had kind words for Hawthorne, who she has known since January 2007. 

“She was easy to get to know and never met a stranger,” Kneuper said. “She always made you feel a part of her circle no matter who you were.  I served with Heather on the executive board of the association for four years, and no matter the situation her enthusiasm, eagerness and willingness to go the extra mile always got the job done. She is a friend to all she meets, and I am especially proud to call her my friend.”

Hawthorne has also chaired CDCAT’s Historical Committee and the education committee and served on various other committees. 

The clerk of the year award qualifications is governed by the association’s bylaws. Each region in Texas nominates two clerks, a county clerk and a district clerk. 

Nominees are voted on with a secret ballot. Nominees have to be an active member of CDCAT and served at least four years in office. The award is given based on their service and contribution to the association.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.