Baytonians are getting freshmen leadership for District 128 Texas House of Representatives, city council races and the Harris County Precinct 3 Constable position. 

Republican candidate Briscoe Cain easily won District 128 Tuesday night, a result that was expected in an overwhelmingly Republican district — which includes Baytown, Deer Park, La Porte, Morgan’s Point, Pasadena and portions of the unincorporated are of East Harris County. Cain defeated Libertarian Ken Lowder. 

“I thank the voters of House District 128 for sending me to Austin and I look forward to achieving conservative results for our district,” Cain said Tuesday night.

Cain is Deer Park native who graduated from Deer Park High School. After high school, he attended San Jacinto College and then University of Houston Downtown where he received a bachelor’s degree in communication. Cain then earned his law degree from South Texas College of Law in downtown Houston. 

In a May runoff election, Cain narrowly beat out incumbent Wayne Smith by a 23-vote margin.

Cain is 31 years old but will be 32 by the time he takes his oath in January, making him the youngest member of the House. However, younger representatives have been elected but none are currently serving. His priorities include property tax relief and banning of sanctuary cities. 

For the City of Baytown, two council seats are up for grabs — District 1 and District 3.

In District 1, incumbent Mercedes Renteria is running against Laura Alvarado. By 10 p.m. Alvarado was leading with 46 votes (57 percent) to Renteria’s 34 (42 percent) with only four out of eight precincts counted. Prior to Election Day, Alvarado held a lead with early voters with 54 percent or 80 votes. 

For Baytown City Coucil District 3, Charles Johnson, Spencer Carnes and Teclesha Blanchard are vying for the seat. As of 10 p.m., Johnson had a slight lead with about 66 votes (56 percent), Carnes had 21 votes (18 percent) and Blanchard had 29 (25 percent) with four out of the nine precincts counted. A runoff could ensue if a candidate fails to obtain 50.01 percent. 

UPDATE: There will be a runoff between Charles Johnson and Spencer Carnes.

In terms of the District 3 Constable race, results did not make it in time for deadline. Nevertheless, District 3, which consists of the Summerwood, Crosby, Huffman, Highlands, North Shore, Channelview and other portions of East Harris County and Baytown, will have a new constable. Since 1999, Ken Jones has served as Pct. 3 Constable but decided to retire. 

UPDATE: Sherman Eagleton won with more than 60 percent of the vote.

Either Democrat Sherman Eagleton or Republican Dan Webb will now represent Constable 3.  

Eagleton is a longtime Harris County resident who lives in the Baytown area. A native of the Barrett Station-Crosby area, Eagleton has 23 years of law enforcement experience. 

Webb, 61, has 39 years of law enforcement experience with 33 years of active duty. He currently holds a Department of Public Safety Commission as a Special Ranger. 

Early election results for District 3 Constable showed Eagleton leading with about 68 percent of the votes from 61 out of 86 precincts as of 10 p.m.  

For final totals, visit

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.